IHSAA Announces 2023-24 'Schools of Excellence'
Academic, athletic, and citizenship criteria were considered when selecting these schools
Published: 5/30/2024 1:31:16 PM


The Idaho High School Activities Association is pleased to announce the 2023-2024 winners of the "Schools of Excellence" program. This yearlong, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their student-athletes’ performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship is the top award for the IHSAA and its member schools. The top three schools in each classification with the best overall programs will be recognized at the IHSAA Annual Meeting, July 31st.


Eagle High School

2nd place Timberline High School

Susan McInerny, Principal; Tony Brulotte, AD

3rd place Rocky Mountain High School


Bishop Kelly High School

2nd place Twin Falls High School

Sarah Quilici, Principal; Tom Shanahan, AD

3rd place Canyon Ridge High School


Kimberly High School

2nd place Sugar-Salem High School

Darin Gonzales, Principal; Zach Dong, AD

3rd place Buhl High School


Declo High School

2nd place Malad High School

Roland Bott, Principal; Jennifer Murdock, AD

3rd place Sun Valley Community School

1A Div I

Grace High School

2nd place Oakley High School

Brandon Jackson, Principal; Travis Draper, AD

3rd place Potlatch High School

1A Div II

Rockland High School

2nd place Camas County High School

Greg Larson, Principal; Andrew Nelson, AD

3rd place Cascade High School


The three major areas of high school activities are weighted equally in determining recipients of the award.

1. The Academic Component is based on the varsity team's cumulative GPA as submitted on the State Academic Champions application for all IHSAA sponsored sports/activity programs.

2. The Performance Component is based on place of finish at IHSAA-sponsored state championships and activity program competitions.

3. The Citizenship Component is based on a school's self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form.  Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.

In addition to the primary awards, schools that score 90% on the Citizenship Component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments will receive an "Award of Excellence" certificate. The 2023-2024 Award of Excellence schools are Bonneville, Burley, Canyon Ridge, Century, Columbia, Lakeland, Pocatello, Kimberly, Sugar-Salem, Malad, Genesee, Cascade, and Highland (Craigmont).

Fan Comments
Only Insider Zone members can comment on articles. It's free to register!
Sign In | Register

This information is copyrighted to IdahoSports.com. Any rebroadcast, retransmission, or other use of this information is strictly prohibited without the expressed, written, consent of IdahoSports.com.

Copyright IdahoSports.com | Privacy Policy