Metro, Region Squads Earn Split In 20th Annual All-Star Basketball Games
Idaho's best and brightest basketball seniors gathered one final time in Coeur d'Alene
Published: 3/27/2023 9:19:45 AM

Idaho's best and brightest senior basketball players donned their high school uniforms one final time during Saturday's 20th edition of the Idaho Statewide All-Star Games at North Idaho College's Christianson Gymnasium in Coeur d'Alene.

The contest featured all-stars from every corner of the state, as Team Metro (Boise area/District 3) took on Team Region (everywhere else) in a girls and boys all-star contest.

The Metro girls built up a big lead, then withstood a furious rally from Team Region to earn the 84-80 win.  Addie Hiler of Bishop Kelly picked up MVP honors after leading Team Metro with 17 points, including four three-pointers.

The boys contest was just as exciting.  A back and forth fourth quarter was decided in the final minute when Rigby's Jakobe Jones hit a pair of free throws to give Team Region a 116-115 lead. Payette's Jaydin Morin-Bishop and Timberline's AJ LaBeau both had chances to give the Metro boys the lead in the closing moments, but couldn't convert, giving Team Region the victory.

Lake City center and University of Virginia commit Blake Buchanan earned MVP honors in the boys game after scoring 19 points.

In between the two contests, Bishop Kelly's Joe Behrend defeated Sugar-Salem's Kennedy Gillette in the three-point contest.  Behrend, who had to defeat Fruitland's Eddie Rodriguez in an extra session to advance to the finals, made 24 threes in the final.  Gillette sank 13.

Buchanan also won the slam dunk contest over Hillcrest's Kobe Kesler.  Buchanan scored 115 total points across three dunks to pick up the win.


TEAM METRO - Addie Hiler (Bishop Kelly) 17, Kendall Clark (Melba) 14, Hallie Arnold (Melba) 10, Zoe Archibald (Rocky Mountain) 9, Mattie Shirtes (Weiser) 8, Keylee Wilson (Melba) 7, Caroline Knothe (Bishop Kelly) 6, Lauren McCall (Timberline) 6, Shae Olsen (Greenleaf Friends) 3, Gracie Castillo (Garden Valley) 2, Brielle Magnuson (Rocky Mountain) 2

TEAM REGION - Madi Andreasen (Ririe) 11, Kennedy Gillette (Sugar-Salem) 11, Kelsey Cessna (Sandpoint) 10, Madi Symons (Coeur d'Alene) 10, Brooke Cook (Hillcrest) 8, Marley Spencer (Thunder Ridge) 8, Capri Sims (Post Falls) 7, Kristin Wemhoff (Prairie) 6, Josalyn Bailey (Filer) 4, Hailey Astle (Dietrich) 2, Lauren Gould (Lapwai) 2, Tara Schlader (Prairie) 1, Maddie Keener (Mountain Home) 0


TEAM METRO - AJ LaBeau (Timberline) 19, Joe Behrend (Bishop Kelly) 19, Gabe Navarro (Nampa) 17, Eloy Chaparro (Skyview) 16, Jack Keller (Columbia) 13, Braden Volkers (Melba) 9, Jaydin Morin-Bishop (Payette) 7, Eddie Rodriguez (Fruitland) 7, Max Myers (Cole Valley Christian) 4, Porter McLinn (Council) 2

TEAM REGION - Blake Buchanan (Lake City) 19, Vander Brown (Lakeside) 19, Jakobe Jones (Rigby) 12, Kolton Mitchell (Lake City) 11, Kobe Kesler (Hillcrest) 10, Scotty Hocking (Lakeland) 9, Noah Nunez (Rigby) 9, Carsn Perkes (Carey) 8, Greyson Sands (St. Maries) 8, Braeden Blackmore (Bonners Ferry) 4, Terrell Ellenwood-Jones (Lapwai) 4, Ty Gilbert (Grace) 3

Fan Comments
Only Insider Zone members can comment on articles. It's free to register!
Sign In | Register

This information is copyrighted to Any rebroadcast, retransmission, or other use of this information is strictly prohibited without the expressed, written, consent of

Copyright | Privacy Policy